Visit the House and Gardens


Sitting in a bowl on the edge of Exmoor, between the Brendon Hills to the East, and the Quantocks to the West, Orchard Wyndham is a secret and ancient place. Look at it from the North, and it appears to be a stately medieval manor. From the West, it looks more like a hamlet. Both are true.

It is a rambling, occasionally grand, often frail house that demands much maintenance and sensitive restoration. It is also a living house, the roots of our family.

We do our best to avoid giving the ordinary sort of tour. Whether a family member or friend, your guide will want to know your particular interests – to better tailor the tour. All visits are escorted, and visitors are invited to see the principal rooms, both upstairs and downstairs, as well as the gardens.

Groups

We are delighted to accept larger groups, which should book in advance so we can plan accordingly. Special groups, small clubs and societies are also welcome at other times of the year, by prior arrangement. Please contact the estate office for details.

Kentsford House and Gardens & Aller Garden

Kentsford House and Gardens, a Grade II former manor house on the estate, is also available for visits, as is Aller Farm’s Garden. Please contact the estate office for direction (wyndhamest(Replace this parenthesis with the @ sign)btconnect.com).

Fees and Bookings

Fees:
Orchard Wyndham House and Gardens: £11 for adults; £4 for children under 14 (children under 7 enter for free); and £8 per person for Special Group tours.
Orchard Wyndham Garden (Sunday 1 June): £3 per person
Kentsford House and Gardens: £7 per person
Aller Garden: £4 per person

Bookings:
Please contact the Wyndham Estate Office to arrange a visit, by telephone (01984 632 309) or email (wyndhamest(Replace this parenthesis with the @ sign)btconnect.com).

Opening Dates – 2017

April

Friday 7th April, 2 pm – KENTSFORD House opening
Thursday 20th April, 2 pm – ORCHARD WYNDHAM House opening
Friday 21st April, 2 pm – ORCHARD WYNDHAM and KENTSFORD House opening
Saturday 22nd April, 2 pm – ORCHARD WYNDHAM House opening
Saturday 29th April, 2 pm – ALLER GARDEN opening for the National Garden Scheme
Sunday 30th April, 2 pm – ALLER GARDEN opening for the National Garden Scheme

May

Monday 1st May, 2 pm (Bank Holiday) –  ORCHARD WYNDHAM House opening
Friday 12th May, 2 pm – KENTSFORD House opening
Thursday 18th May, 2 pm- ORCHARD WYNDHAM House opening
Friday 19th May, 2 pm – ORCHARD WYNDHAM House opening
Friday 26th May, 2 pm – KENTSFORD House opening
Saturday 27th May, 2 pm – ORCHARD WYNDHAM House opening
Sunday 28th May, 2 pm – ORCHARD WYNDHAM House opening
Monday 29th May, 2 pm (Bank Holiday) – ORCHARD WYNDHAM House opening

June

Sunday 4th June, 2 pm – ALLER GARDEN opening for the Red Cross
Thursday 8th June, 2 pm –  ORCHARD WYNDHAM House opening
Friday 9th June, 2 pm –  ORCHARD WYNDHAM and KENTSFORD House opening
Thursday 15th June, 2 pm –  ORCHARD WYNDHAM House opening
Friday 16th June, 2 pm – ORCHARD WYNDHAM House opening
Saturday 24th June, 2 pm
– ORCHARD WYNDHAM House opening
Sunday 25th June, 2 pm – ORCHARD WYNDHAM House opening
Thursday 29th June, 2 pm –  ORCHARD WYNDHAM House opening
Friday 30th June, 2 pm
– ORCHARD WYNDHAM House opening

July

Thursday 6th July, 2 pm –  ORCHARD WYNDHAM House opening
Friday 7th July, 2 pm – ORCHARD WYNDHAM House opening
Sunday 9th July, 2 pm – ALLER FARM  Nursing Charity Fete & Garden opening
Thursday 13th July, 2 pm –  ORCHARD WYNDHAM House opening
Friday 14th July, 2 pm – ORCHARD WYNDHAM House opening
Thursday 20th July, 2 pm –  ORCHARD WYNDHAM House opening
Friday 21st July, 2 pm – ORCHARD WYNDHAM House opening

August

Thursday 10th August, 2 pm – ORCHARD WYNDHAM House opening
Friday 11th August, 2 pm – ORCHARD WYNDHAM House opening
Saturday 12th August, 2 pm – ORCHARD WYNDHAM House opening
Sunday 27th August, 2 pm
– ORCHARD WYNDHAM House opening
Monday 28th August, 2 pm (Bank Holiday) –  ORCHARD WYNDHAM House opening
Thursday 31st August, 2 pm – ORCHARD WYNDHAM House opening

September

Friday 1st September, 2 pm – ORCHARD WYNDHAM House opening

 

How to find us

west somerset railwayPlease see the contact page for how to find Orchard Wyndham by road. You can also get to us by steam on the West Somerset Railway. This beautiful line, built through Wyndham land, runs between Minehead and Bishop’s Lydeard, stopping nearby at Williton. Please note that Williton Station is about 40 minutes walk from the house.

Orchard Mill

Visitors may also like to visit the country’s only museum of Bakelite artefacts at Orchard Mill, on the edge of the park, close to Williton.  The Bakelite Museum also does a very fine cream tea, which visitors may find refreshing after their tour.  Coming from Williton, access is to the right, just after St. Peter’s Church and just before the Lodge.